Bring Me The Horizon ‘That’s The Spirit’

Bring Me The Horizon ‘That’s The Spirit’

Sheffield rockers Bring Me The Horizon are back and going in a new direction. ‘That’s The Spirit’ is taking Bring Me the Horizon away from their old sound that gained them so many followers and developing. The thing is it’s definitely an improvement.

Line up:

  • Oliver Sykes – Vocals
  • Matthew Nicholls – Drums
  • Matt Kean – Bass
  • Lee Malia – Guitars
  • Jordan Fish – Programming, Keys


Track list:bmth tts

  1. Doomed
  2. Happy Song
  3. Throne
  4. True Friends
  5. Follow You
  6. What You Need
  7. Avalanche
  8. Run
  9. Drown
  10. Blasphemy
  11. Oh No


‘That’s The Spirit’ for me brings back some old feelings that I had for Enter Shikari when they brought out ‘Jugganaughts’. However the addition of synth to their sound and also the drastic increase in clean vocal has brought their music into its own. Now not only will it fill a mosh pit happily it will also fit very well into radio playlists and general listening.

There is a true sense of vulnerability throughout the lyrics especially in the track ‘True Friends’. Not only does this track speak to a lot of people it also brings forward something which many can relate to.

For my the chorus in ‘Throne’ is something that I can imagine live. It is so easy to get the crowd to sing along to it. Some of the tracks including ‘Throne’ definitely remind me of Linkin Park, which pleases me a lot.

This album has changed my opinion on Bring Me The Horizon, I’ve definitely been converted and keen to give their older music a shot.

Highlights: Throne, True Friends


Official website

Author: Tori Morris

Related Posts